UPSC Prelims Notifications for 2021 has been released

  • UPSC (The Union Public Service Commission) Prelims Notifications for 2021 has been released on Thursday, March 4 on the official website of UPSC:
  • Twelve important points have been explained briefly in this post, which are the necessary guidelines released by UPSC along with the notification chart, as per Examination Notice No. 04/2021-CSP.
  • The last date to apply for the UPSC Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2021 is till 6pm on March 24.
  • The UPSC civil services (preliminary) Examination 2021 will be conducted on June 27.
  • UPSC Civil Services Prelims is the first stage of the exam. It is an objective type (multiple choice) test consisting of two papers.
  • The exam serves as a screening test in which the marks obtained will not be counted for determining the final order of merit.
  • Candidates should note that there will be penalty (negative marking) for wrong answers marked by a candidate in the Objective Type Question Papers.
  • The number of candidates to be admitted to the Civil Services (Main) exam will be about twelve to thirteen times the total approximate number of vacancies to be filled in the year through this examination.
  • Only candidates who clear Civil Services (preliminary) Examination will be eligible for Civil Services (Main) Examination.
  • List of any Photo ID cards required for application:
  • Aadhar card
  • Voter card
  • PAN Card
  • Passport
  • Driving License


1) DATE:

Aspirants can apply for UPSC prelims 2021 till 6pm on March 24.


Application for the exam can be filled online by using the website


To register for the exam one Photo ID Card is essential. You can use your Aadhaar Card/Voter Card/PAN Card/Passport/Driving Licence/Any other Photo ID Card issued by the State/Central Government for this purpose.


UPSC has set up a Facilitation Counter in its campus to guide candidates who face problem while applying for the exam. Candidates can go in person or seek help over the phone on working days between 10am and 5pm. The telephone Numbers are: 011-23385271/011-23381125/011-23098543


The number of vacancies to be filled through this examination is expected to be approximately 712, which include 22 vacancies reserved for Persons with Benchmark Disability Category.


  1. Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for Main Examination
  2. Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts.


  1. For the Indian Administrative Service, the Indian Foreign Service and the Indian Police Service a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  2. For other services, a candidate must be any of the following: —

(a) a citizen of India

(b) a subject of Nepal

(c) a subject of Bhutan

(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India

(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

  1. Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India.

8) AGE:

  1. The candidate should be of at least of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the August 1, 2021.
  2. Candidates must have been born not earlier than August 2, 1989 and not later than August 1, 2000.
  3. The upper age-limit can be relaxed according to govt rules and for various category candidates.


A candidate must hold a graduation degree from a recognised University.


Every eligible candidate will be allowed six (6) attempts at the civil services examination. However, relaxation in the number of attempts will be available to SC/ST/OBC and PwBD category candidates, who are otherwise eligible.


  1. Candidates are required to pay a fee of Rs. 100 to apply for civil services prelims examination.
  2. Female candidates and those belonging to SC, ST and Persons with Benchmark Disability categories are exempted from payment of fees.
  3. Candidates who qualify for Main Examination will need to pay a further fee of Rs. 200.


Candidate should choose exam Centres carefully. If any candidate appears at a centre other than the one given in his admit card, the papers of such a candidate will not be evaluated.

The detailed list of the centres for both the UPSC Preliminary and Mains is presented below:

  • Centres of Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination:
  1. Agartala
  2. Gorakhpur
  3. Patna
  4. Agra
  5. Gurgaon
  6. Port Blair
  7. Ajmer
  8. Gwalior
  9. Prayagraj (Allahabad)
  10. Ahmedabad
  11. Hyderabad
  12. Puducherry
  13. Aizawl
  14. Imphal
  15. Pune
  16. Aligarh
  17. Indore
  18. Raipur
  19. Anantpur (Andhra Pradesh) 
  20. Itanagar
  21. Rajkot
  22. Aurangabad
  23. Jabalpur
  24. Ranchi
  25. Bangalore
  26. Jaipur
  27. Sambalpur
  28. Bareilly
  29. Jammu
  30. Shillong
  31. Bhopal
  32. Jodhpur
  33. Shimla
  34. Bilaspur
  35. Jorhat
  36. Siliguri
  37. Chandigarh
  38. Kochi
  39. Srinagar
  40. Chennai
  41. Kohima
  42. Thane
  43. Coimbatore
  44. Kolkata
  45. Thiruvananthapuram
  46. Cuttack
  47. Kozhikode (Calicut)  
  48. Tiruchirapalli
  49. Dehradun
  50. Leh
  51. Tirupati
  52. Delhi
  53. Lucknow
  54. Udaipur
  55. Dharwad
  56. Ludhiana
  57. Varanasi
  58. Dispur
  59. Madurai
  60. Vellore
  61. Faridabad
  62. Mumbai
  63. Vijayawada
  64. Gangtok
  65. Mysore
  66. Vishakhapatnam
  67. Gaya
  68. Nagpur 
  69. Warangal
  70. Gautam Buddh Nagar
  71. Navi Mumbai
  72. Ghaziabad
  73. Panaji (Goa)
  • Centres of Civil Services (Mains) Examination:
  1. Ahmedabad
  2. Delhi
  3. Patna
  4. Aizawl
  5. Dispur (Guwahati)  
  6. Prayagraj (Allahabad)
  7. Bengaluru
  8. Hyderabad
  9. Raipur
  10. Bhopal
  11. Jaipur
  12. Ranchi
  13. Chandigarh
  14. Jammu
  15. Shillong
  16. Chennai
  17. Kolkata
  18. Shimla
  19. Cuttack
  20. Lucknow
  21. Thiruvananthapuram
  22. Dehradun
  23. Mumbai 
  24. Vijayawada


  • Candidates can apply online by visiting
  • Detailed instructions for filling up online applications are available on this website.
  • Candidates are advised to submit only single application form.
  • However, if an applicant submits more than one application, the form with higher RID (Registration ID) shall be considered by UPSC.
  • All candidates whether already in Government Sevice, Government owned industrial undertakings or other similar organizations or in private employment should submit their applications directly to the Commission.